This website is not optimized for Miscrosoft Internet Explorer and Miscrosoft Edge !

Exhibitions

Bijoux d’artistes, de Picasso à Koons. La collection idéale de Diane Venet

19/11/2020
— 24/01/2021
11h at 19h
19/11/2020 — 24/01/2021
11h at 19h
Ratskeller exhibition space (rue du Curé)

Free entrance

Thirty years ago, the artist Bernar Venet wrapped a thin rod of silver foil around the finger of the woman who would become his wife . . . It was this touching, spontaneous gesture that would forever mark Diane Venet and instil in her a passion for the collection of artists’ jewellery, rare and rich in symbolic power.

This impressive collection of small works of art has seduced audiences in several museums around the world, and it is now the turn of the City of Luxembourg to welcome a selection of pieces from one hundred international artists in a new exhibition conceived by the team of the Cercle Cité team and curated by Diane Venet.

The exhibition at Cercle Cité takes visitors on a chronological and thematic journey through a display specifically designed by NJOY to accommodate these miniature works created by leading avant-garde artists (Georges Braque, the Pomodoro brothers, Alexander Calder), Surrealists (Hans Arp, Salvador Dalí) , Man Ray), Pop artists (Roy Lichtenstein, Robert Indiana), Minimalists (Frank Stella, Lucio Fontana) and contemporary artists (Kader Attia, ORLAN, Anish Kapoor . . .).

This exhibition gave the Franco-Luxembourgish duo Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil the opportunity to create their first piece of jewelry, a ring that perfectly embodies their artistic style. 

In this year 2020, marked by distancing and uncertainty, as well as by an unprecedented reduction in the number of cultural events on offer, the exhibition at the Cercle Cité pays tribute to the creativity of artists, inviting visitors to connect with their own sensitivity as well as with that of the artists, whose perspective – at times critical, at others playful – and ingenious work accompany us in all circumstances and will continue, again and again, to introduce an element of dream into our daily lives.


Free guided tour every Saturday at 3pm

21.11.2020 (FR)
28.11.2020 (EN)
05.12.2020 (LU/DE)
12.12.2020 (FR)
19.12.2020 (EN)
26.12.2020 (LU/DE)
02.01.2021 (FR)
09.01.2021 (EN)
16.01.2021 (LU/DE)
23.01.2021 (FR)

Special opening hours:
11an-3pm : Thursday 24.12.2020, Thursday 31.12.2020

Closed:
Friday 25.12.2020, Friday 01.01.2021

In accordance with the health instructions related to the Covid-19 pandemic, the number of visitors in the exhibition space is limited to 20 people. It is mandatory for visitors to wear a mask and maintain a distance of 2 meters between each other while visiting the exhibition.

Curator
Diane Venet
Organisation
Cercle Cité
Exhibition design
NJOY
Partners
Institut Français du Luxembourg, Association Victor Hugo, Ambassade de France
Support
Chambre des Métiers, Reckinger, Galerie Ceysson & Bénétière

Subscribe to the newsletter

Ce site internet n'est pas optimisé pour Miscrosoft Internet Explorer et pour Miscrosoft Edge !

Expositions

Bijoux d’artistes, de Picasso à Koons. La collection idéale de Diane Venet

19/11/2020
— 24/01/2021
11h à 19h
19/11/2020 — 24/01/2021
11h à 19h
Espace d'exposition Ratskeller (rue du Curé)

Entrée libre

Il y a une trentaine d’années, l’artiste Bernar Venet enroulait une fine baguette d’argent autour du doigt de celle qui allait devenir sa femme… C’est ce geste émouvant et spontané qui marquera à jamais Diane Venet et fera naître chez elle une passion pour la collection de bijoux d’artistes, rares et riches en charge symbolique.

Cette impressionnante collection de petits objets d’art a séduit le public dans plusieurs musées à travers le monde, et c’est au tour de la Ville de Luxembourg d’accueillir une sélection de pièces d’une centaine d’artistes internationaux dans une nouvelle exposition conçue par l’équipe du Cercle Cité, sous le commissariat de Diane Venet.

Le Cercle Cité propose ainsi un parcours chronologique et thématique dans une scénographie spécialement élaborée par NJOY pour les œuvres miniatures créées par des artistes phares de l’avant-garde (Georges Braque, les frères Pomodoro, Alexander Calder), du surréalisme (Hans Arp, Salvador Dalí, Man Ray), du Pop Art (Roy Lichtenstein, Robert Indiana), du minimalisme (Frank Stella, Lucio Fontana) et de l’art contemporain (Kader Attia, ORLAN ou encore Anish Kapoor).

Cette exposition a donné l’occasion au duo franco-luxembourgeois Martine Feipel & Jean Bechameil de créer leur premier bijou, une bague qui incarne parfaitement leur style artistique.

En cette année 2020, marquée par la distanciation et l’incertitude, par la diminution inédite de l’offre culturelle et événementielle, l’exposition au Cercle Cité rend hommage à la créativité des artistes et invite le visiteur à se connecter à sa propre sensibilité, ainsi qu’à celle de l’artiste dont le regard – parfois critique, parfois ludique – et le travail ingénieux nous accompagnent en toutes circonstances et continueront, encore, à apporter une part de rêve dans notre quotidien.


Visite guidée gratuite tous les samedis à 15h

21.11.2020 (FR)
28.11.2020 (EN)
05.12.2020 (LU/DE)
12.12.2020 (FR)
19.12.2020 (EN)
26.12.2020 (LU/DE)
02.01.2021 (FR)
09.01.2021 (EN)
16.01.2021 (LU/DE)
23.01.2021 (FR)

Fermetures exceptionnelles: 

Jeudi 24.12.2020 à 15h00
Vendredi 25.12.2020
Jeudi 31.12.2020 à 15h00
Vendredi 01.01.2021


Dans le respect des consignes sanitaires liées à la Pandémie du Covid-19, le nombre de visiteurs dans l'espace d'exposition est limité à 20 personnes. Le port du masque ainsi que le maintien d'une distance de sécurité de 2 mètres entre les visiteurs est obligatoire. 

Commissaire
Diane Venet
Organisation
Cercle Cité
Scénographie
NJOY
Partenaires
Institut Français du Luxembourg, Association Victor Hugo, Ambassade de France
Soutiens
Chambre des Métiers, Reckinger, Galerie Ceysson & Bénétière

Inscription à la newsletter