This website is not optimized for Miscrosoft Internet Explorer and Miscrosoft Edge !

Exhibitions

CeCiL’s Box by Étienne Duval

7:00 - 22:00

27/06/2024
— 15/09/2024
24h/24
27/06/2024 — 15/09/2024
24h/24
"CeCiL's Box" showcase (rue du Curé)

Free entrance

With the CeCiL's Box, the Cercle Cité supports local creation by presenting and promoting the work of emerging and young artists from the Greater Region in one of its shop windows in the Rue du Curé. This mini exhibition space, visible 7 days a week, day and night, offers a street-side location in the heart of the city to a series of original and ephemeral interventions from the plastic and applied arts, with the aim of arousing the curiosity of passers-by and questioning the collective imagination.

The 33rd intervention, entrusted to artist Étienne Duval, is entitled 7:00 - 22:00.

__

The recent ban on begging in Luxembourg Upper City from 7.00 am to 10.00 pm is the starting point for the installation entitled "7:00 - 22:00".

The main element is a continuous 24-hour video. From 7.00 am to 10.00 pm, passers-by can observe a woman engaged in discreet begging actions: she gestures to them or hold out her hand to them. From 10.00 pm to 7.00 am in the morning, the video shows the same figure sleeping.

By providing an artistic presence in the context of a legal absence, "7:00 - 22:00" makes a modest attempt to repair a social failing. A system of calls for donations enables empathetic passers-by to act immediately by supporting associations that help the most destitute.

This installation sets out to provoke empathy and to initiate a dialogue concerning social challenges in our public spaces.

__

We invite you to meet-up with the artist in front of the CeCiL's Box on Thursday June 27 at 12:00.

Share your images on Facebook and Instagram! #cecilsbox

Exhibition opening 27.06.2024 - 12:00
Organisation
Cercle Cité
Programmation
Marion Vergin and Iyoshi Kreutz

Subscribe to the newsletter

Ce site internet n'est pas optimisé pour Miscrosoft Internet Explorer et pour Miscrosoft Edge !

Expositions

CeCiL’s Box by Étienne Duval

7:00 - 22:00

27/06/2024
— 15/09/2024
24h/24
27/06/2024 — 15/09/2024
24h/24
Vitrine "CeCiL's Box" (rue du Curé)

Entrée libre

Avec la CeCiL’s Box, le Cercle Cité soutient la création locale en présentant et en valorisant le travail d’artistes émergents et de jeunes artistes de la Grande Région au sein de l’une de ses vitrines de la rue du Curé. Ce mini-espace d’exposition, visible 24/7, de jour comme de nuit, offre pignon sur rue en plein cœur de ville à une série d’interventions inédites et éphémères issues du domaine des arts plastiques et des arts appliqués, dans le but de susciter la curiosité des passants et d’interroger l’imaginaire collectif.

La 33ème intervention est confiée à l'artiste Étienne Duval et est intitulée 7:00 - 22:00.

__

La récente interdiction de mendicité de 7h à 22h dans la Ville Haute de Luxembourg est le point de départ de l’installation « 7:00 - 22:00 ».

L’élément principal est une vidéo en continu de 24 heures. De 7h à 22h, les passant.e.s peuvent observer une femme engagée dans des gestes de mendicité discrets : elle leur fait signe ou leur tend la main. De 22h à 7h du matin, la vidéo montre cette même figure endormie.

En offrant une présence artistique dans un contexte d’absence légale, « 7:00 - 22:00 » tente de réparer modestement une brisure sociale. Un dispositif d’appel aux dons permet aux passant.e.s empathiques d’agir immédiatement en soutenant des associations qui aident les plus démuni.e.s.

Cette installation vise à susciter l'empathie et à ouvrir un dialogue sur les défis sociaux dans nos espaces publics.

__

Inauguration le jeudi 27 juin à 12:00, où nous vous proposons de nous retrouver devant la CeCiL's Box pour un échange avec l'artiste.

Partagez vos images sur Instagram et Facebook ! #cecilsbox

Vernissage le 27.06.2024 à 12:00
Organisation
Cercle Cité
Programmation
Marion Vergin et Iyoshi Kreutz

Inscription à la newsletter