This website is not optimized for Miscrosoft Internet Explorer and Miscrosoft Edge !

Exhibitions

Hitchcock. The brand.

The Hitchcock brand through time

11/02/2022
— 10/04/2022
11:00 - 19:00
11/02/2022 — 10/04/2022
11:00 - 19:00
Ratskeller exhibition space (rue du Curé)

Free entrance

Opening registration

Alfred Hitchcock is still one of the most famous filmmakers in the world. More than 40 years after his death, his name and image remain a universal reference, synonymous with cinematographic quality, efficiency, suspense, macabre humour and originality. He is internationally acclaimed by critics as one of the greatest filmmakers in history. Already, in 1957, in the first book devoted to Hitchcock, Eric Rohmer and Claude Chabrol stressed that he was one of "the greatest 'inventors of forms' in the whole history of the 7th art. Only Murnau and Eisenstein, perhaps, can compare with him in this respect.". Although this sometimes -excessive enthusiasm was not always shared by the critics of the time – his detractors described him as a good technician, at best, and a shrewd salesman – Hitchcock's reputation continued to grow in the 1960s and 1970s, partly thanks to the commitment and writing of such influential film world figures as François Truffaut, Peter Bogdanovich, Andrew Sarris and Robin Wood.

Although Hitchcock still remains an essential reference today, not only among filmgoers but also with the general public, this is due not simply to his films but also to a powerful and coherent public image, a sort of "Hitchcock brand", that he himself created and cultivated throughout his career. Hitchcock always had a keen sense of self-promotion. As early as the 1920s and 1930s, he succeeded in making a name for himself, first among film professionals and then fairly quickly with a great many viewers who were more interested at the time in film stars than in directors. He fashioned his own image and quickly became an easily recognisable icon, even a veritable label, with a profound effect on the minds of several generations of filmgoers and television audiences. For a long time, Hitchcock was one of the very rare filmmakers of his time whose name alone could attract the public into cinemas.

As part of this exhibition, we attempt to analyse and illustrate the deliberate and extremely calculated fabrication of this "brand", this universal public and highly lucrative image. He used a multitude of methods and systems that enabled him to establish a powerful, original and effective brand image on a par with his ambitions.


This exhibition unveils the private collection of Paul Lesch, a great enthusiast of the world of Alfred Hitchcock.


The exhibition opening will be held under the 2G+ regime of the CovidCheck and divided into hourly slots. Subject to change, in compliance with the regulations in place. Registration will open at the end of January.


Free guided tour every Saturday at 3pm

12.02.2022 (FR)
19.02.2022 (EN)
26.02.2022 (LU/DE)
05.03.2022 (FR)
12.03.2022 (EN)
19.03.2022 (LU/DE)
26.03.2022 (FR)
02.04.2022 (EN)
09.04.2022 (LU/DE)

10 people maximum - No registration needed


In accordance with the health regulations related to the Covid-19 pandemic, the number of visitors in the exhibition space is limited to 10 people and its access isn't placed under any CovidCheck regime. It is mandatory for visitors to wear a mask while visiting the exhibition. 

Exhibition opening 10.02.2022 - 18:00
Organisation
Cercle Cité
Curators
Paul Lesch, in collaboration with Anouk Wies
With the support of
Luxembourg City Film Festival

The Université Populaire du Cinéma (Uni-Pop) is offering a cycle entirely devoted to Alfred Hitchcock for its 12th season, in parallel to the exhibition.

More information on www.unipopcine.luwww.facebook.com/UniPopCine

Subscribe to the newsletter

Ce site internet n'est pas optimisé pour Miscrosoft Internet Explorer et pour Miscrosoft Edge !

Expositions

Hitchcock. The brand.

La marque Hitchcock à travers le temps

11/02/2022
— 10/04/2022
11:00 à 19:00
11/02/2022 — 10/04/2022
11:00 à 19:00
Espace d'exposition Ratskeller (rue du Curé)

Entrée libre

Inscription vernissage

Alfred Hitchcock est toujours un des cinéastes le plus célèbres au monde. Plus de 40 ans après sa disparition, son nom et son image restent une référence universelle, synonyme de qualité cinématographique, d’efficacité, de suspense, d’humour macabre et d’originalité. Il est considéré par la critique internationale comme l’un des plus grands cinéastes au monde. Déjà en 1957, Eric Rohmer et Claude Chabrol soulignent dans le premier livre consacré à Hitchcock, qu’il est un « des plus grands ‘ inventeurs de formes ’ de toute l’histoire du 7e art. Seuls, peut-être, Murnau et Eisenstein peuvent, sur ce chapitre, soutenir la comparaison avec lui. ». Si tous les critiques de l’époque ne partagent pas cet enthousiasme parfois débordant - ses détracteurs le qualifient tout au plus comme un bon technicien et un commerçant avisé -, la renommée d’Hitchcock s’amplifie encore au cours des années 1960-70, entre autres grâce à l’engagement et aux écrits de personnalités du monde cinématographique aussi influentes que François Truffaut, Peter Bogdanovich, Andrew Sarris ou Robin Wood.

Si Hitchcock reste encore aujourd’hui une référence incontournable non seulement parmi les cinéphiles mais également auprès du grand public, ce n’est pas uniquement dû à ses films, mais également à une image publique forte et cohérente, une sorte de « marque Hitchcock », qu’il a créée et cultivée lui-même tout au long de sa carrière. Hitchcock a toujours eu un sens aigu de l’autopromotion. Dès les années 1920-30, il a réussi à se faire un nom, d’abord parmi les professionnels du cinéma, puis assez rapidement parmi un grand nombre de spectateurs, qui à l’époque s’intéressaient davantage aux stars des films qu’à leurs réalisateurs. Il a façonné sa propre image et il est vite devenu une icône facilement reconnaissable, voire même un véritable label, qui a marqué profondément l’esprit de plusieurs générations de spectateurs de cinéma et de télévision. Hitchcock est un des très rares cinéastes de son époque à pouvoir attirer le public dans les cinémas grâce à la simple évocation de son nom.

Dans le cadre de cette exposition, nous essayons d’analyser et d’illustrer la fabrication réfléchie et très calculée de cette « marque », de cette image publique universelle et très vendeuse. Il a eu recours à une multitude de méthodes et de dispositifs qui lui ont permis d’imposer une image de marque puissante originale, efficace et à la hauteur de ses ambitions.

 

Cette exposition dévoile la collection privée de Paul Lesch, grand passionné de l'univers d'Alfred Hitchcock.

 

Vernissage placé sous le régime 2G+ du CovidCheck et réparti en créneaux horaires. Sous réserve de changement, en fonction de la réglementation en vigueur. Ouverture des inscriptions fin janvier. 


Visite guidée gratuite tous les samedis à 15:00 

12.02.2022 (FR)
19.02.2022 (EN)
26.02.2022 (LU/DE)
05.03.2022 (FR)
12.03.2022 (EN)
19.03.2022 (LU/DE)
26.03.2022 (FR)
02.04.2022 (EN)
09.04.2022 (LU/DE)

10 personnes maximum - Sans inscription


Dans le respect des consignes sanitaires liées à la Pandémie du Covid-19, le nombre de visiteurs dans l'espace d'exposition est limité à 10 personnes dans la mesure où ce dernier n'est placé sous aucun régime du CovidCheck. Le port du masque est obligatoire dans l'espace d'exposition.  

Vernissage le 10.02.2022 à 18:00
Organisation
Cercle Cité
Commissariat
Paul Lesch, en collaboration avec Anouk Wies
Avec le soutien du
Luxembourg City Film Festival

En parallèle à l'exposition, l'Université Populaire du Cinéma (Uni-Pop) propose un cycle entièrement consacré à Alfred Hitchcock pour sa 12ème saison.

Plus d'informations sur www.unipopcine.luwww.facebook.com/UniPopCine

Inscription à la newsletter