This website is not optimized for Miscrosoft Internet Explorer and Miscrosoft Edge !

Exhibitions

Norbert Ketter, Sophie Feyder

The photo studio of life

29/04/2022
— 26/06/2022
11:00 - 19:00
29/04/2022 — 26/06/2022
11:00 - 19:00
Ratskeller exhibition space (rue du Curé)

Free entrance

"I have been told that Norbert Ketter had rid my brain of a post-card Grand Duchy, enabling me to finally discover the space that is Luxembourg". This quotation from the writer Jacques Gandebeuf concludes a text published for the catalogue of the exhibition Norbert Ketter, Photographs 1961 – 1981, in the Villa Vauban museum in Luxembourg city. It refers to Ketter's Luxembourg landscapes, which marked his work from the beginning. Significantly, Gandebeuf uses the term "space", that of a country whose topography in Ketter's lens was built up from photograph to photograph, with its north, its south, its undulating lands, faces and landscapes that are "homely and compliant" only at first sight. Norbert Ketter's urban portraits, from his first collection on the city of Esch-sur-Alzette in 1970 to the emblematic series Des hommes et des images – Regards sur notre société multiculturelle (Of Men and Images – Views of our Multicultural Society) in 1992 are no more than its natural extension. They form an integral part of this living space that the photographer never ceased to scrutinize and represent throughout his career with a compassionate eye.

But although his gaze was tender, Ketter's artistic approach was all the more structured. Nothing, in his photographs, is left to chance. The space and the light, everything is staged. The ASTI (Association de Soutien aux Travailleurs Immigrés - Association to Support Immigrant Workers) wished to pay homage to this humanistic portraitist and "image maker" by suggesting the subject to the Cercle Cité, to celebrate the 40th anniversary of the association.

However, the social landscape of Luxembourg has changed since Norbert Ketter's demise in 1997. And the practices of documentary photography have evolved, now going further. Moving images and audio testimonies complement stills taken on the fly, with the experience of the subjects. The work is co-constructed in collaborative processes based on repeated exchanges and interactions that lead to greater depth.

Sophie Feyder, a native of Luxembourg with Peruvian roots and based in Brussels is part of this contemporary anthropological approach. With And They Lived Happily Ever After, the artist, author and researcher uses her works to explore the memory and subjective experience of migration and belonging in today's world. She gives voice to hopes, disappointments and questions, thus producing complex portraits that move us with their humanity. Separated by several decades, the works of Sophie Feyder and Norbert Ketter thus resonate around the subject of the human, in a space that the two artists fully embrace, the photo studio of life.
Sophie Feyder's project was realized with the support of Cercle Cité and the grant “Bourse CNA – Aide à la création et à la diffusion en photographie, Centre National de l’Audiovisuel (CNA), Luxembourg”


Opening on Thursday, 28th of April starting at 6pm.
Under no CovidCheck regime, subject to change as the health situation evolves.


Free guided tour every Saturday at 3pm

30.04 (FR)
07.05 (EN) with Françoise Poos and Sophie Feyder
14.05 (PT)
21.05 (LU/DE)
28.05 (FR)
04.06 (EN) with Sophie Feyder
11.06 (PT)
18.06 (LU/DE)
25.06 (FR) with Françoise Poos

(no registration needed)


It is recommanded for visitors to wear a mask while visiting the exhibition. 

Exhibition opening 28.04.2022 - 18:00
Organisation
Cercle Cité
Curator
Françoise Poos

All of Norbert Ketter's photographs on display at Cercle Cité are part of the Centre national de l'audiovisuel's collection.

Framework programme

Screening

Schwaarze Mann - A black in our midst

An intimate portrait of the first black Luxembourger

Organized by Cercle Cité

01/06/2022 18:30 - 21:00

Lectures

A strolling conversation between Sophie Feyder and Françoise Poos

The photo studio of life

Organized by Cercle Cité

05/05/2022 18:30 - 19:30

Workshops

Constellations in the studio

Organized by Cercle Cité

04/06/2022 14:00 - 17:00
07/05/2022 14:00 - 17:00

Photographic retrospective

Subscribe to the newsletter

Ce site internet n'est pas optimisé pour Miscrosoft Internet Explorer et pour Miscrosoft Edge !

Expositions

Norbert Ketter, Sophie Feyder

Le studio photo de la vie

29/04/2022
— 26/06/2022
11:00 à 19:00
29/04/2022 — 26/06/2022
11:00 à 19:00
Espace d'exposition Ratskeller (rue du Curé)

Entrée libre

« Je me suis laissé dire que Norbert Ketter m’avait débarrassé le cerveau d’un Grand-Duché en carte postale, pour me faire découvrir enfin l’espace luxembourgeois ». Cette citation de l’écrivain Jacques Gandebeuf, clôt un texte publié pour le catalogue de l’exposition Norbert Ketter, Photographies 1961 – 1981, au musée Villa Vauban de la Ville de Luxembourg. Elle fait référence aux paysages luxembourgeois de Ketter qui marquent son œuvre depuis ses débuts. De manière significative, Gandebeuf emploie le terme « espace », celui d’un pays, dont la topographie, sous l’objectif de Ketter, se construit de photographie en photographie, avec son nord, son sud, ses terres ondulées, « sages » seulement à première vue, de paysage en visage. Les portraits urbains de Norbert Ketter, depuis son premier recueil sur la ville d’Esch-sur-Alzette en 1970 jusqu’à la série emblématique Des Hommes et des images – Regards sur notre société multiculturelle en 1992, n’en sont que le prolongement naturel. Ils font partie intégrante de cet espace de vie que le photographe n’a cessé de scruter et de représenter tout au long de sa carrière d’un œil bienveillant.

Mais si le regard est tendre, la démarche artistique de Ketter n’en est que plus structurée. Rien, dans ses photographies, n’est laissé au hasard. L’espace et la lumière, tout est mis en scène. C’est à ce portraitiste humaniste et « faiseur d’images » que l’ASTI (Association de Soutien aux Travailleurs Immigrés) voulait rendre hommage en proposant le sujet au Cercle Cité, à l’occasion du 40ème anniversaire de l’association.

Le paysage social luxembourgeois a changé cependant depuis le décès de Norbert Ketter en 1997. Aussi, les pratiques photographiques documentaires ont-elles évolué, vont plus loin. L’image mouvante et des témoignages sonores viennent compléter l’image fixe prise sur le vif, par le vécu des sujets. L’œuvre se co-construit lors de processus collaboratifs basés sur l’échange et l’interaction répétés permettant d’aller en profondeur. 

Sophie Feyder, Luxembourgeoise aux racines péruviennes et basée à Bruxelles, s’inscrit dans cette démarche anthropologique contemporaine. Avec And They Lived Happily Ever After, l’artiste, auteure et chercheuse, explore avec ses travaux la mémoire et l’expérience subjective de la migration et de l’appartenance à l’époque actuelle. Elle donne une voix aux espoirs, aux déceptions et aux questions, produit ainsi des portraits complexes et émouvants d’humanité. À plusieurs décennies d’intervalle, les œuvres de Sophie Feyder et de Norbert Ketter se font ainsi écho, autour du sujet de l’humain, dans un espace que les deux artistes investissent pleinement, le studio photo de la vie.
Le projet de Sophie Feyder a été réalisé avec le soutien du Cercle Cité et de la Bourse CNA - Aide à la création et à la diffusion en photographie, Centre National de l'Audiovisuel (CNA), Luxembourg.


Vernissage le jeudi 28.04.2022 à partir de 18:00. 
Sans régime CovidCheck, sous réserve de modification en fonction de l'évolution de la situation sanitaire.


Visite guidée gratuite tous les samedis à 15:00

30.04 (FR)
07.05 (EN) avec Françoise Poos et Sophie Feyder
14.05 (PT)
21.05 (LU/DE)
28.05 (FR)
04.06 (EN) avec Sophie Feyder
11.06 (PT)
18.06 (LU/DE)
25.06 (FR) avec Françoise Poos

(sans inscription)


Le port du masque est recommandé dans l'espace d'exposition.  

Vernissage le 28.04.2022 à 18:00
Organisation
Cercle Cité
Commissaire
Françoise Poos

Toutes les photographies de Norbert Ketter exposées au Cercle Cité font partie de la collection du Centre national de l'audiovisuel.

Programme cadre

Projection de film

Schwaarze Mann - Un noir parmi nous

Un portrait intime du premier luxembourgeois noir.

Organisé par Cercle Cité

01/06/2022 18:30 à 21:00

Conférences

Une conversation déambulatoire entre Sophie Feyder et Françoise Poos

Le studio photo de la vie

Organisé par Cercle Cité

05/05/2022 18:30 à 19:30

Ateliers - workshops

Constellations in the studio

Organisé par Cercle Cité

04/06/2022 14:00 à 17:00
07/05/2022 14:00 à 17:00

Retour en image

Inscription à la newsletter