This website is not optimized for Miscrosoft Internet Explorer and Miscrosoft Edge !

Exhibitions

Rethinking Nature

In the frame of the European Month of Photography

30/04/2021
— 27/06/2021
11h - 19h
30/04/2021 — 27/06/2021
11h - 19h
Ratskeller exhibition space (rue du Curé)

Free entrance

As part of the 8th edition of the European Month of Photography Luxembourg, the Rethinking Nature exhibition makes a break with what is referred to as the landscape genre. By upsetting the point of view and the framing, which no longer respect the centuries-old Euclidian perspective, the five artists showcase representations that open up new micro and macro natural spaces.

Using dematerialisation, deconstruction and fragmentation, their photographic artistic approaches express in unique ways the vulnerability of nature and humanity's current conflicts in relation to it, while contributing to developing ecological awareness.

Romanian artist Maria-Magdalena Ianchis lives in Vienna and focusses on anthropogenic climate change. Through her artistic research into three Icelandic and Austrian glaciers she demonstrates the vulnerability and impotence of nature on the one hand and the fragility of humanity on the other. Her artistic and political commitment opens up to a world of imagination that transports us to the depths of humanity.

French artist Nicolas Floc’h's submarine landscapes plunge us into a fascinating world of submerged marine habitats. His scientific and artistic expeditions led him to study the transformations caused by global warming and to see how, independently of their political impact, his photographs find aesthetic echoes in painting and other representations of classic photographic landscapes.

Art and science are intertwined for Luxembourg artist Justine Blau. Following in the steps of Charles Darwin and the question of extinction and dis-extinction, she creates assemblages of images and installations – photographs and videos – that transport us through her scientific-artistic quest to a world between reality and imagination. She plunges us into her fluid and open world while revealing the controversies that sustain her scientific, artistic and philosophic questions.

Vanja Bučan, a Slovene artist living in Berlin, focusses on correlations between man and nature and questions related to ecosystems. Inspired by the still lifes and offbeat arrangements of the Surrealists and Dadaists, she reconstructs environments in her studio in order to subvert situations that illustrate these relations between the vegetal, the animal and the human. Through her presentations and absurd arrangements she uses irony and enchantment to overturn our perception of nature.

Genevan artist Anastasia Mityukova presents complex artistic work that is based on an archive of documents concerning an abandoned American military experimental nuclear base in Greenland. A corpus of 6000 images accumulated by the artist in recent years is presented in different evolving and organic forms, creating a new narrative in interaction with the spectator's vision.

Sharing in a new aesthetic experience, visitors to this exhibition are stunned by the presentation and the photographic installation as it opens up unexplored fields.


Exhibition open every day, 11am-7pm - free entrance.


Opening Thursday 29.04.2021 from 6.30 pm to 8.30 pm
Ratskeller exhibition space - rue du Curé, Luxembourg

Due to the current situation related to Covid-19, the opening will be divided into time slots every half hour.
Limited spaces, booking available soon


Free guided tour every Saturday at 3 pm
(Free entrance, no prior registration needed)

01.05.2021 (FR)
08.05.2021 (EN)
15.05.2021 (LU/DE)
22.05.2021 (FR)
29.05.2021 (EN)
05.06.2021 (LU/DE)
12.06.2021 (FR)
19.06.2021 (EN)
26.06.2021 (LU/DE)

In accordance with the health instructions related to the Covid-19 pandemic, the number of visitors in the exhibition space is limited to 20 people. It is mandatory for visitors to wear a mask and maintain a distance of 2 meters between each other while visiting the exhibition. 

Exhibition opening 29.04.2021 - 18:30
Organisation
Cercle Cité, in collaboration with Café-Crème asbl Luxembourg
Curators
Paul di Felice and Pierre Stiwer
Artists
Justine Blau, Vanja Bučan, Nicolas Floc’h, Maria Magdalena Ianchis, Anastasia Mityukova

Subscribe to the newsletter

Ce site internet n'est pas optimisé pour Miscrosoft Internet Explorer et pour Miscrosoft Edge !

Expositions

Rethinking Nature

Dans le cadre du Mois Européen de la Photographie

30/04/2021
— 27/06/2021
11:00 à 19:00
30/04/2021 — 27/06/2021
11:00 à 19:00
Espace d'exposition Ratskeller (rue du Curé)

Entrée libre

Réservation

L’exposition Rethinking Nature dans le cadre de la 8ème édition du Mois européen de la photographie Luxembourg provoque une rupture avec ce qu’on appelle le genre du paysage. En perturbant le point de vue et le cadrage, n’obéissant plus à la perspective euclidienne séculaire, les cinq artistes proposent des représentations qui s’ouvrent à de nouveaux espaces micro et macro de la nature.

À travers la dématérialisation, la déconstruction et la fragmentation leurs approches artistiques photographiques expriment de façons singulières la vulnérabilité de cette nature et les conflits actuels que l’homme a dans son rapport avec elle, tout en contribuant à une prise de conscience écologique..

L’artiste roumaine Maria-Magdalena Ianchis vivant à Vienne, s’intéresse au changement climatique provoqué par l’homme. À travers ses recherches artistiques autour de trois glaciers islandais et autrichiens elle montre d’un côté la vulnérabilité et l’impuissance de la nature et de l’autre la fragilité de l’homme. Son engagement artistique et politique s’ouvre à un imaginaire qui nous transpose dans les profondeurs de l’humanité.

Avec ses paysages sous-marins, l’artiste français Nicolas Floc’h nous plonge dans un univers fascinant des habitats marins immergés. Ses expéditions scientifiques et artistiques l’ont amené à étudier les transformations dues au réchauffement climatiques et à voir comment en dehors de leur impact politique ses photographies trouvent des correspondances esthétiques en référence à la peinture et à d’autres représentations de paysages photographiques classiques.

L’art et les sciences s’entrecroisent chez l’artiste luxembourgeoise Justine Blau. Sur les traces de Charles Darwin et la question d’extinction et de dés-extinction, elle crée des assemblages d’images et des installations – photographies et vidéos- qui nous transposent dans un monde entre réel et imaginaire à travers une quête scientifique-artistique. Elle nous plonge dans son univers fluide et ouvert tout en révélant les controverses qui alimentent son questionnement scientifique, artistique et philosophique.

Vanja Bučanartiste slovène vivant à Berlin, s’intéresse aux corrélations de l’homme avec la nature et aux questions liées aux écosystèmes. Inspirée des natures mortes et arrangements insolites des surréalistes et dadaïstes, elle détourne des situations qui montrent ces relations entre le végétal, l’animal et l’humain en reconstruisant des environnements dans son studio. À travers ses mises en scènes et arrangements absurdes elle perturbe avec ironie et enchantement notre vision de la nature.

L’artiste genevoise Anastasia Mityukova présente un travail artistique complexe qui repose sur une archive de documents autour d’une base militaire nucléaire expérimentale américaine abandonnée au Groenland. Un corpus de 6000 images accumulé par l’artiste au courant des dernières années se présente sous différentes formes évolutives et organiques créant une nouvelle narration en interaction avec les visions du spectateur.

Complice d’une expérience esthétique nouvelle, le regardeur dans cette exposition est interpellé par la mise en scène et l’installation photographique s’ouvrant à des champs inexplorés.


Exposition ouverte tous les jours, de 11:00 à 19:00 - entrée libre.


Vernissage jeudi 29.04.2021 de 18:30 à 20:30
Espace d’exposition Ratskeller - rue du Curé, Luxembourg

En raison de la situation actuelle liée au Covid-19, le vernissage sera réparti en créneaux horaires toutes les demi-heures.
Places limitées, inscription ici

(En raison de la crise sanitaire actuelle, la capacité d’accueil sur nos événements est limitée. Ainsi, si après inscription vous n’êtes pas en mesure de pouvoir y assister, nous vous invitons à nous contacter au plus vite par e-mail (inscription@cerclecite.lu) afin de pouvoir libérer votre place à d’autres personnes).


Visite guidée gratuite tous les samedis à 15:00
(entrée libre, sans réservation, dans la limite des places disponibles)

01.05.2021 (FR)
08.05.2021 (EN)
15.05.2021 (LU/DE)
22.05.2021 (FR)
29.05.2021 (EN)
05.06.2021 (LU/DE)
12.06.2021 (FR)
19.06.2021 (EN)
26.06.2021 (LU/DE)

Dans le respect des consignes sanitaires liées à la Pandémie du Covid-19, le nombre de visiteurs dans l'espace d'exposition est limité à 20 personnes. Le port du masque ainsi que le maintien d'une distance de sécurité de 2 mètres entre les visiteurs est obligatoire. 

Vernissage le 29.04.2021 à 18:30
Organisation
Cercle Cité, en collaboration avec Café-Crème asbl Luxembourg
Commissaires
Paul di Felice et Pierre Stiwer
Artistes
Justine Blau, Vanja Bučan, Nicolas Floc’h, Maria Magdalena Ianchis, Anastasia Mityukova

Programme cadre

Table-ronde

Re-penser la nature, re-penser la photographie

Dans le cadre du Mois européen de la photographie au Luxembourg

Organisé par Cercle Cité, en collaboration avec Café-Crème asbl

05/06/2021 15:00 à 16:30

Littérature

Cercle de Lectures - Nos Atlantides

Noir sur blanc. Clichés en tous genres

Organisé par Cercle Cité, en collaboration avec Corina Ciocârlie

17/06/2021 18:30 à 20:00

Retour en image

Inscription à la newsletter