This website is not optimized for Miscrosoft Internet Explorer and Miscrosoft Edge !

Literature

Cercle de Lectures - Nos Atlantides

In black and white. Clichés of all kinds

17/06/2021
18:30 - 20:00
17/06/2021
18:30 - 20:00
Cité Auditorium (3, rue Genistre)

Free entrance

Booking

Upon registration

In French

Beginning in October 2020, Corina Ciocârlie and the Cercle Cité introduce a new cycle of encounters devoted to the phenomenon of migration as seen by writers and photographers. 

In resonance with the "Rethinking Nature" exhibition (Cercle Cité/EMoPLux 2021), we shall attempt to understand how an island, a country, a continent can dissolve – literally – into indifference or sink into oblivion, like the glaciers observed by Maria-Magdalena Ianchis or the nuclear military base abandoned in Greenland and restored to life by Anastasia Mityukova.

Doggerland is the name that geologists have given to a large island that linked Great Britain to the rest of Europe during the Quaternary glaciations. A sort of Atlantis in the middle of the North Sea, swallowed up by a tsunami 8000 years ago, whose traces have only recently been discovered. Élisabeth Filhol used it as a setting for a gripping narrative: Doggerland (2019), or the novelistic reflection of a double collapse – a geographical fault and a romantic bankruptcy, a climatic anomaly and emotional confusion.

In her remarkable Atlas des îles abandonnées (Atlas of abandoned islands, 2009), Judith Schalansky makes an inventory of all the islands that are so far removed from their mother country that they cannot feature on national maps. Most of the time they are ignored, unless they are relegated to the margins like "footnotes to the continent", packed into a little box endowed with its own scale. Whether they are called Iwo Jima, Solitude, Floreana or Deception Island, these Atlantis-type islands engulfed by waves and the anger of the gods are a testament to our incapacity to look the Other straight in the eye, not in order to conquer them or tame them but to observe their presence and dialogue with them on an equal basis.

According to Anastasia Mitukova, this is a Disappearing Act after which nothing remains of the Thule military base abandoned by the Americans except the waste buried in the frozen soil of Greenland. Similarly, Alfredo Jaar the Chilean artist represents Africa as a submersible continent, engulfed by the black tide of oblivion and soluble in the troubled waters of indifference. His Rwanda Project 1994-2000 is an implacable demonstration of how Western media shut their eyes to the Rwandan genocide. Jaar uses light to blind and darkness to light up, thus echoing the camera lucida mechanism. This is his way of reminding us that Africa remains an under-exposed continent, which is obstinately refused an honest and unprejudiced appraisal - what Roland Barthes called The Bright Room, "just an image, but a just image".

Rwanda Project, is also a long history of silence and forgetting, a guilty and recurrent amnesia. Jean Hatzfeld knows this just as well as Alfredo Jaar. In Là où tout se tait (Where nothing is named, 2021), the former special correspondent strides through the hills of Nyamata in search of the very rare Hutus who resisted the genocidal madness in 1994 at the risk of their lives. In Rwanda they are called "guardians of the blood pact", and their position is intolerable: in the eyes of the Hutus they are the embodiment of treason, whereas the Tutsis refuse to admit that meritorious Hutus exist. Twenty-five years after the horror, they are surrounded by distrust and immured in silence, like the islands abandoned in the middle of the ocean and banished from the maps.

Register here.

(Due to the current health crisis, the capacity at our events is limited. Therefore, if after registering you are unable to attend, we kindly invite you to contact us as soon as possible by e-mail (inscription@cerclecite.lu) so that we can free up your space for others).

In accordance with the health regulations linked to the Covid-19 Pandemic, the number of visitors is limited and prior registration for the event is required. 
Wearing a mask upon entrance, as well as maintaining a social distance between visitors is mandatory. 

Organisation
Cercle Cité, in collaboration with Corina Ciocârlie

Framework programme

Exhibitions

Rethinking Nature

In the frame of the European Month of Photography

Organized by Cercle Cité, in collaboration with Café-Crème asbl Luxembourg

Exhibition opening 29.04.2021 - 18:30

30/04/2021 - 27/06/2021 11:00 - 19:00

Round-table discussion

Re-penser la nature, re-penser la photographie

In the framework of the European Month of Photography in Luxembourg

Organized by Cercle Cité, in collaboration with Café-Crème asbl

05/06/2021 15:00 - 16:30

Subscribe to the newsletter

Ce site internet n'est pas optimisé pour Miscrosoft Internet Explorer et pour Miscrosoft Edge !

Littérature

Cercle de Lectures - Nos Atlantides

Noir sur blanc. Clichés en tous genres

17/06/2021
18:30 à 20:00
17/06/2021
18:30 à 20:00
Auditorium Cité (3, rue Genistre)

Entrée libre

Réservation

Sur inscription

En langue française

Depuis le mois d’octobre 2020, Corina Ciocârlie et le Cercle Cité proposent un nouveau cycle de rencontres consacré au phénomène migratoire sous la loupe des écrivains et des photographes. 

En consonance avec l’exposition « Rethinking Nature » (Cercle Cité/EMoPLux 2021), nous allons essayer de comprendre comment une île, un pays, un continent peuvent fondre – littéralement – dans l’indifférence ou sombrer dans l’oubli, à l’instar des glaciers observés par Maria-Magdalena Ianchis ou de cette base militaire nucléaire abandonnée au Groenland et ressuscitée par Anastasia Mityukova.

Doggerland est le nom donné par les géologues à une grande île qui reliait la Grande-Bretagne au reste de l’Europe durant les glaciations quaternaires. Une sorte d’Atlantide en pleine Mer du Nord, engloutie par un tsunami il y a 8 000 ans et dont les traces n’ont été retrouvées que récemment. Élisabeth Filhol en a tiré le décor d’un récit saisissant : Doggerland (2019), ou le miroir romanesque d’un double effondrement – faille géographique et faillite amoureuse, anomalie climatique et confusion des sentiments.

Dans son remarquable Atlas des îles abandonnées (2009), Judith Schalansky fait l’inventaire de toutes ces îles tellement éloignées de leur pays de rattachement qu’elles ne tiennent pas sur les cartes nationales. La plupart du temps, on les ignore, à moins qu’on ne les relègue dans les marges, comme des « notes de bas de page du continent », parquées dans une petite case et dotées d’une propre échelle. Qu’elles s’appellent Iwo Jima, Solitude, Floreana ou l’Île de la Déception, ces Atlantides englouties par les flots et la colère des dieux témoignent de notre incapacité de regarder l’Autre droit dans les yeux, non pas pour le conquérir ou l’apprivoiser, mais pour constater sa présence et dialoguer avec lui d’égal à égal.

Selon Anastasia Mitukova, il s’agit là d’un Disappearing Act suite auquel, de cette base militaire de Thulé abandonnée par les Américains, on ne voit plus que les déchets enfouis dans le sol gelé du Groenland. De même, l’artiste chilien Alfredo Jaar se représente l’Afrique comme un continent submersible, englouti par la marée noire l’oubli, soluble dans l’eau trouble de l’indifférence. Son Rwanda Project 1994-2000 montre de façon implacable comment les médias occidentaux ont su fermer les yeux sur le génocide rwandais. Jaar utilise la lumière pour aveugler et l’obscurité pour éclairer, faisant ainsi écho au mécanisme de la camera lucida. C’est sa façon de rappeler que l’Afrique reste un continent sous-exposé, auquel on refuse obstinément un regard honnête et sans a priori – ce que Roland Barthes appelle, dans La Chambre claire, « juste une image, mais une image juste ».

Rwanda Project, c’est aussi une longue histoire de silence et d’oubli, une amnésie coupable et récurrente. Jean Hatzfeld le sait tout aussi bien qu’Alfredo Jaar. Dans Là où tout se tait (2021), l’ancien grand reporter arpente les collines de Nyamata à la recherche des très rares Hutus ayant résisté en 1994 à la folie génocidaire, au péril de leur vie. Au Rwanda, on les appelle les « gardiens du pacte de sang », et leur position est intenable : aux yeux des Hutus ils incarnent la trahison, alors que les Tutsis refusent d’admettre qu’il y ait eu des Hutus méritants. Vingt-cinq ans après l’horreur, ils sont entourés de méfiance, murés dans le silence, à l’image de ces îles abandonnées au milieu de l’océan et bannies des cartes.

Inscription obligatoire ici

(En raison de la crise sanitaire actuelle, la capacité d’accueil sur nos événements est limitée. Ainsi, si après inscription vous n’êtes pas en mesure de pouvoir y assister, nous vous invitons à nous contacter au plus vite par e-mail (inscription@cerclecite.lu) afin de pouvoir libérer votre place à d’autres personnes).

Dans le respect des consignes sanitaires en vigueur liées à la Pandémie du Covid-19, le nombre de participants est limité et l'inscription à l'événement exigée. 
Le port du masque pour entrer dans la salle, ainsi que le maintien d'une distance entre les visiteurs est obligatoire.

Organisation
Cercle Cité, en collaboration avec Corina Ciocârlie

Programme cadre

Expositions

Rethinking Nature

Dans le cadre du Mois Européen de la Photographie

Organisé par Cercle Cité, en collaboration avec Café-Crème asbl Luxembourg

Vernissage le 29.04.2021 à 18:30

30/04/2021 - 27/06/2021 11:00 à 19:00

Table-ronde

Re-penser la nature, re-penser la photographie

Dans le cadre du Mois européen de la photographie au Luxembourg

Organisé par Cercle Cité, en collaboration avec Café-Crème asbl

05/06/2021 15:00 à 16:30

Inscription à la newsletter